skip to Main Content

Glasgow crews for the 2019 Scottish Boat Race announced

The Glasgow University Boat Club crews for the 2019 Scottish Boat Race, which takes place on Saturday 25 May, have been announced. Featuring a host of talented athletes the crews will be looking to retake the Scottish Boat Race title from their east coast rivals.

Races will include the  1st VIII and 2nd VIII boats from the  University of Glasgow competing with University of Edinburgh crews.  The races take place on a 2 kilometre stretch of the Clyde River and will culminate opposite the Glasgow Science Centre Tower. This is where the official viewing area will be hosted and where the winner trophy’s will be presented.

You can find out more about the 2019 races here

The Glasgow women’s 1st VIII  will feature Medical Student Niamh McClure who missed out on the 2018 race after a cycling accident. Niamh has also battled back from illness in the first half of this season to take up her position in the crew for the 2019 race:

“I am excited to be back in time to race this summer. Hoping that the boat race will offer an opportunity for racing that will be invaluable for the squad as we progress through the summer season. Both my cousins have won the boat race for Glasgow and Edinburgh, something that I hope to repeat myself.”

Portuguese National Champion and Mechanical Engineering Erasmus student Duarte Menezes will row in the men’s 1st VIII and is delighted to have the opportunity to compete in the historic event:

“As I fell in love with the place, club, and people around here, I’ve decided to stay for a full year instead so that I could compete during an entire season for GUBC”

Men’s 1st VIIIWomen’s 1st VIII
BowEthan Matthews
English and Politics
Kelsey Collington
MSc Software Development
2Chris Martens
Aeronautical Engineering
Kirsty Naismith
BSc Geography
3Rory Cartlidge
Mechanical engineering
Sophie Anderson
BSc Mathematics and Finance
4Matt Jackson
Veterinary Medicine
Miriam Payne
BSc Physics and Astrophysics
5Rory Young
Maths and Computing
Maia Hely
MEng Mechanical and Electronic Engineering
6Moray Arbuckle
Mechanical engineering
Nina Petric-Gray
PhD in Biomedical Engineering
7Duarte Menezes
Mechanical engineering
Emma Pearson
MA Business and Spanish
StrokeJosh Thompson
Niamh McClure
MBChB Medicine
CoxLindsey Vest
Chemistry with Medicinal Chemistry
Eve Simmons
MA History
Men’s Novice & 2nd VIIIWomen’s Novice & 2nd VIIIGUBC Graduate VIII
Jamie Wilson
Fjonne Buesche
James McKenzie
Angus Steele
Kristian Homdrom
David Baird
Mattia Romero
Alexander Morris
Cox: Natasha Mansell
Bow: Kathryn McMullan
Ailish Mcallister
Katie Stewart
Kitty Wilson Farrand
Jess Moore
Melissa Radoja
Katie MacQuarrie
Emily Robertson
Cox: Charlotte Avery
Robyn Gillies
Grainne McGuire Connelly
Maggie Ullyat
Ellen Smith
Mike Lukakis
Iain Rice
David MacSorley
Cox: TBC
Back To Top